Representation Development For Documentary

When thinking of my idea, as it is quite grounded and similar to everyday life, I want the audience to feel this. “In the making of Nanook, the real Nanook has a relationship with the camera that is part of his reality.” (Grant et al. 1998)  I want to convey this type of relationship in my film. I want the contributors to treat the camera as part of their reality. Like it is a friend they are speaking to about their experiences. When analysing Nanook of the North further, we can see that; “Nanook is not a mere “persona”; he is a human being of flesh and blood” (Grant et al. 1998) I want to avoid creating a structured reality esque documentary. I don’t want to create something fake. I want it to be real. So, whilst I will be creating a “persona” around them in order to make an entertaining and relatable character, I will be also taking Nanook’s approach and showing more about them. I will be showing how they are a real person, with real feelings that the audience can hopefully indulge themselves in.

Documentary has the ability to “open our eyes to worlds available to us but, for one reason or another, not perceived”. (Barnouw, 1993) Even though people are generally aware of the idea behind the app Tinder, they will have not had the experience of having such a fly on the wall, behind the scenes look at how an average user interacts with the app on a regular basis. Through the use of having my a week using tinder segment, I hope to show this viewpoint well. When creating my documentary, I should think carefully about what I wish to convey. Through my documentary, I want to show how a new and regular Tinder interacts with the application and their thoughts about the morality, security and dating potential of using Tinder. “We know already that documentary sources do not transparently describe or reveal state of affairs. They help construct them”.(Silverman, 2005) So, when I am showing these messages I should stray away from trying to transparently describe them and instead allow all these issues to arise naturally to help construct the state of affairs in a truthful and productive manner.

References

Barnouw, E. (1993) Documentary. New York: Oxford University Press. p.4.

Grant, B., Sloniowski, J. and Nichols, B. (1998) Documenting The Documentary. Wayne State University Press. p.25

Silverman, D. (2005) Doing Qualitative Research. London: Sage Publications. p.85.

Leave a Reply

