Trailer Critical Evaluation/Process

This is my final trailer, which I have posted on my Twitter, Facebook and website, http://reillyfilmandediting.wix.com/documentary which I have talked about all of their production previously.

I was inspired by trailers of similar subject matters and began creating my trailer to a similar ideal. I spoke about how I wanted to tease the audience into watching the full length documentary by using one liners. I feel I did this effectively through the use of short cuts to lines said by every participant. These one liners don’t give away much information but do ask a question of the audience that they should want to know the answer to. Whilst I did it quite comically, I could have perhaps focused on the deeper side of the documentary, also asking an emotional question to be answered rather than just a comical one.

I said I wanted to offer the character of the individuals involved. I feel this was done fairly well as I cherry picked quotes to give an idea of how that contributor’s personality is perceived in the documentary, whilst not giving too much away. However, this could have perhaps been improved by adding in a range of emotions from each individual and presenting them to be more multifaceted which would in turn ask more questions that the audience would want to watch the documentary to answer.

Furthermore, I wanted to plant the idea of the topic within the trailer. Through the use of techniques I saw in trailers such as ‘Blind Date’ (Anon, 2016) where they reinforced the topic matter through quotes from the participants, the soundtrack and graphics. I applied all these techniques; I only used quotes which were obviously about the main topic, the music used was of a tempo and genre which matched and the graphics gave key information about the documentary, including letting the audience know the release date and using relevant cuts using the glitch effect to show it is a modern topic about technology. Despite doing all this, I perhaps feel I was too subtle about the genre. When speaking about presenting a topic you’re passionate about, Barth once said “assume your audience is intelligent but KNOWS NOTHING about your subject, including jargon and tiresome abbreviations” (Anon, 2016) and I assumed too much prior knowledge of the subject matter, not once mentioning explicitly what the documentary is about. I instead offered fleeting words which hinted towards what I was creating, which whilst is teasing towards knowledgeable people on the subject matter, probably wasn’t the smartest idea for the most part.

Despite my final cut of my documentary not being available for viewing yet, I am able to judge how successful my film is due to the response to the trailer, most of which has been wildly positive. I have had various comments saying that they can’t wait to see the full version which fills me with confidence that I have achieved my previously set out aims for the trailer. In terms of my own personal development, this process has been a hugely beneficial one where I have been far more focused in the ins and outs of creating a trailer and doing far more contextual research than I would have done prior into this process, allowing it to be a greater success than usual.

References

Anon. (2016) Blind Date Facebook Page [online] available from <https://www.facebook.com/blinddatedocumentary/&gt; [2 May 2016]

Anon. (2016) Tips And Tricks Towards An Outstanding Presentation – Pimp Your Science[online] available from <http://www.pimpyourscience.org/lesson/6/Tips-and-tricks-towards-an-outstanding-presentation.html&gt; [3 May 2016]

Leave a Reply

