Building a Portfolio

When looking at the research I made in my previous blog post about creating a portfolio, I discovered that ‘sites have become a hub for the independent filmmaking community, and are a vital resource.’ (Raindance, 2013) and that creating my portfolio on a website was imperative. Using the information I obtained, I have developed my own portfolio. From my research I decided that a website was a lot more of a fitting resource for my line of work. Using the website tool Wix, I can make my website very professional looking whilst also saving time and resources. (Wix.com, 2016)

I used a template and edited it to keep it original and make it personal to myself. I wanted the design to remain sleek whilst not distracting from the information I am presenting as well as adding to the idea of professionalism I want to present. I have done this by using modern fonts and dark and sleek colours.

All the images below are taken from my website at http://www.reillyfilmandediting.wix.com/reilly/

(Reillyfilmandediting.wix.com, 2016)

HOMEPAGE

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 19.15.39

In order to get the idea of what I produce from the offset available to the audience, I put images of my involvement in some productions as well as my logo.

ABOUT

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 19.20.36

It’s said that the about page “is where they come to learn more about your company and the people behind the brand” (Bluefountainmedia.com, 2016) So I needed to incorporate these ideas into my about page whilst still making it look professional and easy to read.  I managed to briefly give the information about my business and how we run in a personal and professional way whilst still making it look sleek through the design around the information.

CONTACT

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 19.21.46

When looking at other websites, as mentioned in my previous post, there was always a way in which the individuals can get in contact.  When researching how to make a killer contact page, the main tip I found was not “to put too many barriers between the site visitors and the contact information they’re looking for. Keep your contact us page short, sweet, and to the point.” (Wordstream.com, 2015) So I have arranged all the information so it’s very easy to access, giving them 5 different ways to get into contact with me so they can easily find a way.

PORTFOLIO

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 19.22.46

 

 

After doing research into the importance of a CV to an employer, finding out that “your CV will be, without doubt, the single most important part of getting a job.” (Monster.co.uk, 2016) So, if this is the single most important part, I should be displaying it in an area which potential employers may be looking, hence the inclusion of it.

I have also included my showreel on this page to demonstrate my skills as a video editor further. Given that showreels are “critical marketing materials for any creative professional.” (Premimumbeat.com, 2013) I decided it was an imperative part to include in my portfolio, as it is another, and key, part of marketing myself as a professional. However, it is also recommended to not just include the showreel and to instead include “a portfolio of work clients can browse through and watch as much of a piece as they want.” (Premiumbeat.com, 2013). So, I have added in a few sample edits of other work I have done to further show my skills.

When creating my showreel, I looked into how to best present my work in this format, I found “it’s best to mix those moments in with other clips over a montage. Other times it’s best to just get straight to the point and make a showreel with just scenes.” (Slickshowreels.co.uk, 2015) So, since my intention was to show my editing skills, I chose the clips and scenes and only showed the moments that got to the point of what I’m trying to present. When presenting this information I “need to be able to feel whether the clips flow together(Slickshowreels.co.uk, 2015). This is particularly imperative to my field of work as I am trying to show of my ability to do exactly that, so I was very particular in my clip transitions and made sure it all made sense and flowed.

Now that I have created this professional platform to market my abilities, I have linked it to all my work, both physical and technological, adding it to all of my work.  I will be able to use this as a tool to be able to show what I have to offer and convince people I am a professional.

References

Bluefountainmedia.com. (2016) 5 Must Have Elements For Inspiring About Us Pages [online] available from <http://www.bluefountainmedia.com/blog/5-creative-elements-for-creating-inspiring-about-us-pages/&gt; [11 April 2016]

Monster.co.uk, (2016) What Does CV Stand For | What Is A CV | Monster.Co.Uk [online] available from <http://www.monster.co.uk/career-advice/article/what-is-a-cv-and-why-is-it-important&gt; [11 April 2016]

Premiumbeat.com, (2013) 6 Ways To Make Your Showreel Or Demo Reel Stand Out[online] available from <http://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/demo-reel-showreel-tips/&gt; [4 May 2016]

Raindance.org, (2013) Top 13 Sites For Independent Filmmakers – Raindance[online] available from <http://www.raindance.org/top-13-sites-for-independent-filmmakers/&gt; [10 February 2016]

Reillyfilmandediting.wix.com, (2016) Reilly [online] available from <http://reillyfilmandediting.wix.com/reilly&gt; [11 April 2016]

Slickshowreels.co.uk, (2015) HOW TO MAKE A SHOWREEL [online] available from <http://slickshowreels.co.uk/how_to_make_a_showreel/&gt; [7 May 2016]

Wix.com, (2016) Free Website Builder | Create A Free Website | WIX.Com [online] available from <http://www.wix.com&gt; [11 March 2016]

Wordstream.com, (2015) How To Make A Rocking ‘Contact Us’ Page: 21+ Tips, Tricks, And Examples | Wordstream [online] available from <http://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2015/03/11/contact-us-page&gt; [11 April 2016]

 

Leave a Reply

